• Employee Recognition 2011-12

    Principal of the Year
    - Vanessa Strickland (Plantation Key School), pictured at right with Superintendent Jesus Jara)

    Assistant Principal of the Year - Blake Fry (Coral Shores High School)

    Instructional Employee of the Year

    Jeanne Sanford (Supervisor/Coordinator, History and Social Sciences), pictured at left with Chief Academic Officer Teresa Axford and Superintendent Jesus Jara

    Management Employee of the Year - Jeff Barrows (Assistant Director, Maintenance)

                Guidance Counselor of the Year
                                 Daliana Goins (Sugarloaf School)

    School-Related Employee of the Year - Dianne Poe (Coral Shores High School)

    District Inclusion Teacher of the Year - Clara Rife (Coral Shores High School)

    District Teacher of the Year - Holli Roberts (Glynn Archer Elementary School)

    Employee Recognition 2010-11

    Outstanding Principal and Assistant Principal

    Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Joseph Burke, has announced that Amber Bosco (pictured left) has been selected as Principal of the Year and Christina McPherson (pictured right) has been selected as Assistant Principal of the Year.  The Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and Outstanding Assistant Principal Award recognizes exemplary principals and assistant principals for their contributions to their schools and communities.   

    District Inclusion Teacher of the Year

    Congratulations to the
    Monroe County School District Inclusion Teacher of the Year 2011

    Kristen Condella
    (Horace O'Bryant Middle School) 

    HOB Principal Mr. Henriquez is quoted as saying: “I cannot put into words how integral she is to the success of our students and our school.”  Ms. Condella holds all her students accountable and believes: “The inclusion method allows ESE students to work with general education students and learn from them as well.  Students are exposed and held accountable to the same standards as general education students which give them the confidence to work with their disability to achieve success.”

    Instructional/Management Employees of the Year

    The following staff have been recognized by district employees as the Instructional/ Management Employees of the Year.  Congratulations!!
    Instructional –Catherine Kanagy
    Management – Kayleen Watts

    Amanda Award Winner

    The Florida Association for Media in Education (FAME) is proud to announce Jodie Delgado, media specialist at Coral Shores High School as the winner of the prestigious Amanda Award. This award recognizes one high school and middle school media specialist each year for developing programs that enhance and support the self-esteem and well being of young adults by creating exemplary environments where students are made to feel that they fit in and that they are part of the school. Mrs. Delgado won this award for her program Poetry Out Loud.

    (Pictured: CSHS Media Specialist Jodie Delgado and CSHS student Luna Rivera.  Luna received an Honorable Mention in last year's Poetry Out Loud contest.)