District # 1
ROBIN SMITH-MARTIN

District # 2
ANDY GRIFFITHS
Vice Chair

District # 3
DR. R. DUNCAN MATHEWSON, III

District # 4
JOHN R. DICK
Chair

District # 5
RONALD A. MARTIN





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Dr. Jesus Jara, Interim Superintendent 305-293-1400 ext. 53323

Date: July 8, 2011

MCSD ANNOUNCES EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS & CORAL SHORES HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL

KEY WEST, FL - Dr. Jesus Jara, Interim Superintendent for Monroe County Schools is pleased to announce Mrs. Theresa Axford as the new Executive Director for Operations and Mr. Dave Murphy as Coral Shores High School Principal. Mrs. Axford has served the district for 25 years as a teacher, assistant principal and principal. As Principal of Sugarloaf School she lead the school to consistently maintain an A grade. During her tenure as KWHS Principal, the school gained 33 points in the Florida School Grading Formula, attained 90% of the criteria for Annual Yearly Progress and moved out of Correct II status in the State's Differentiated Accountability System which requires state monitoring of student progress. Mrs. Axford has served as a principal for 15 years. She has her Master's Degree from Nova Southeastern University in Administration and Supervision.

Mr. Dave Murphy returns to Coral Shores High School and he has been with Monroe County Schools for the past 14 years as a teacher, coach, assistant principal and principal. Mr. Murphy served as assistant principal for seven years at Coral Shores High School before he was promoted to principal of Stanley Switlik Elementary in 2010. While there he helped guide Switlik to their tenth consecutive year as an A rated school. He also spent nine years teaching Science in Broward County.

He has a Bachelor's Degree in Science Education from the University of Iowa and a Master's Degree in Educational Leadership and Administration from Florida State University.

Dr. Jara will begin the search for replacing the principals of Key West High and Stanley Switlik Schools.

###