Return to Headlines

FCSS Teacher of the Year for Monroe County

Monroe County School District is pleased to announce the Florida Council for the Social Studies (FCSS) Teacher of the Year for Monroe County is Marianne Nelson from Sugarloaf School. Mrs. Nelson was selected because of her ability to foster the development of democratic beliefs and values, and the skills needed to for citizenship appropriate to her students, her student teacher relationships, her professionalism, and her outstanding teaching methods.
Mrs. Nelson teaches 6th grade World History and 8th grade U.S. History at Sugarloaf School. She graduated from Wesleyan University with a B.A. in Sociology. Mrs. Nelson, "utilizes many teaching strategies; such as, integrated technology, learning centers, and cooperative learning to help engage the many different learning styles of the students," as described by her principal, Mr. Harry Russell. Mrs. Nelson participated and led two Teaching American History grants, she has coordinated school trips to Fort Zachary Taylor to celebrate Civil War Days and a lecture series put on by the Mel Fisher Maritime Museum. She is a member of the National Council for the Social Studies, the National Council for History Education and Florida Council for the Social Studies. Mrs. Nelson is a leader, mentor, and an outstanding social studies educator. 

Marianne will be honored at the Monroe County School District’s Employee Recognition Banquet on May 20 and at an awards dinner in October at the FCSS Conference in Orlando.